Have you been hurt at work? Well, you might be eligible for compensation. Employers in North Carolina are obligated to apply for workers’ compensation insurance to cover employees who are injured when doing their duties. If you are looking for the best Monroe workers’ compensation lawyer, 1Charlotte should be your first choice. Call our personal injury lawyers now so we can start working on your workers’ compensation claim in Monroe, NC.
Table of Contents
Understanding Workers’ Compensation Coverage in NC
Under North Carolina law, any business with 3 or more employees should have workers’ compensation insurance. These businesses include corporations, sole proprietorships, limited liability companies, and partnerships. There are some exceptions to who qualifies as an employee. For instance, LLC members, sole proprietors, and businesses are not employees but they can be covered if they meet certain requirements.
Other employees exempted from workers’ compensation insurance in North Carolina include:
- Casual employees who don’t participate in regular business activities. Such employees don’t work regular hours and often leave the job without notice.
- Domestic employees.
- Farmworkers where there are less than 10 employees.
- Railroad employees.
- A corporate officer who chooses to be excluded from workers’ compensation coverage. However, the officer will still be counted as an employee to determine whether or not the business qualifies to apply for workers’ compensation insurance.
What Are The Most Common Workplace Accidents?
Different types of injuries can occur at the workplace. Here are the most common workplace accidents that might result in injuries prompting workers’ compensation claims.
Trips, Slips, And Falls
These account for a 1/3 of most personal injuries and are often the main cause for workers’ compensation claims. Injuries from these include back, head, and neck injuries. They might also include sprains, broken bones, cuts, and pulled muscles. The main reasons for slips, falls, and trips include oily surfaces, poor lighting, wrinkled carpets, and uneven walking surfaces.
Being Struck By Or Caught In Moving Machinery
Anyone working with machinery is susceptible to accidents but they are most common in factories. Machinery that is not properly guarded poses a huge safety hazard. Machine injuries at the workplace can result in severed fingers, crushed hands or arms, and much more.
Fire And Explosions
In the workplace, explosions might be caused by faulty gas lines, open flames, or improperly stored materials. The injuries resulting from these include varying degrees of burns, damage to the respiratory system, and potential disfigurement.
If you have suffered any of these injuries at work, you are eligible for compensation. Call 1Charlotte today and get a free consultation with the best Monroe, NC Workers’ Compensation Lawyers.
What Should I Do After I Am Hurt on the Job?
A workplace injury is often stressful and frightening. It’s important to follow these steps:
Notify Your Employer
First, you need to notify your employer that you are hurt. Under North Carolina law, you have 30 days within which to report the accident to the employer. Make sure you provide concrete details about the accident such as how it happened and the exact date it happened. Note that, if you report the accident after 30 days, compensation benefits may not be payable.
Visit a Doctor
Make sure you choose a doctor recommended by your employer or their insurance company. If you visit a doctor outside coverage, you might not be compensated for any medical expenses incurred. Make sure you follow your doctor’s instructions regarding treatment to the letter.
You need to start and maintain a written record of your symptoms and injury right from the date of the accident. Make sure you note any new symptoms that come up as a result of the workplace accident.
Do you have visible accidents from your workplace injury? You need to take photographs to document the evidence to be used later in your compensation claim. If possible, take videos to explain every injury or symptom for the best results.
File a Workers’ Compensation Claim
Next, you need to file a workers’ compensation claim to get benefits for the expenses incurred after suffering a workplace accident.
1Charlotte is the first choice if you are looking for the best Monroe, NC attorney to handle workers’ compensation claims. With our vast experience in similar cases, we can make sure that you receive the benefits that you deserve. Call us now and we can schedule a consultation to determine the right way to handle your case.
Why Should I Hire a Monroe, NC Workers’ Compensation Lawyer?
With some Monroe workers’ compensation cases, you can easily represent yourself. Here are some cases when you don’t really need to hire a lawyer after a workplace accident.
- If you suffered a minor injury after a workplace accident and it doesn’t require extensive treatment.
- If your employer freely admits that the accident happened at work.
- You missed very few days at work or no work at all because of your injury.
- You don’t have a preexisting condition in the affected area.
Yes, it might be straightforward but it’s always a good idea to hire the best Monroe, NC workers’ compensation lawyer. Here are some of the situations why having 1Charlotte by your side when filing a workers’ compensation case is a good idea.
Denied Claims and Disputes
When your employer denies your claim or fails to pay your benefits promptly, you need to hire us immediately. Most employers do this knowing that most employees will not file an appeal. We are here to make sure that you receive your benefits after any workplace injury without any hassles.
The compensation amount might be too little such that it doesn’t cover all the expenses incurred after your workplace accident. Call us today and we can negotiate a better settlement amount for you. Let us help with your workers’ compensation dispute.
Retaliation from Employer
If you suffer any retaliation from your employer after filing a workers’ compensation claim, it’s time to get us on your side. If you have been demoted, fired, or have had your salary or overall hours reduced, we are here to help. Your boss isn’t supposed to show you any type of discrimination after filing a workers’ compensation claim. Call us now and we can make sure that your rights are duly protected from exploitative employers.
How Much Does it Cost to Hire a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer?
We work on a contingency basis so you don’t need to worry about the legal fees until you receive your compensation. If you feel that you can’t handle a workers’ compensation case on your own and don’t have enough money to pay for an attorney, call us now. With our dedication and diligence, you can always rest assured that you are our top priority.
Call 1Charlotte today and talk to one of our seasoned attorneys on your workers’ compensation case. We can handle every aspect of your case when it comes to filing a claim, settlement negotiation, or trial representation. We will make sure that you get fair compensation for the injuries suffered while doing your job.
Types Of Benefits From Workers’ Compensation in North Carolina
Here are the benefits you can recover through a workers’ compensation claim in Monroe, North Carolina.
If you are unable to return to work, you should be compensated a percentage of your lost wages. If you miss work for a period longer than 7 days, you are eligible to receive disability benefits for a maximum period of 500 weeks.
Your medical costs after a workplace accident should be compensated. If you have visited the right healthcare provider as recommended by your employer or your insurance company, you are in the right hands.
If an employee passes away because of a workplace accident, the workers’ compensation policy should be able to cover hospital and medical expenses. These include death benefits to the family and funeral costs.
If you have a work-related illness or injury that demands ongoing care, it should be covered by your workers’ compensation benefits. For instance, if you need physical therapy for or rehabilitation, your workers’ compensation benefits should be able to cover everything.
Contact Our Monroe Workers’ Compensation Lawyers
In North Carolina, you should file a workers’ compensation claim within two years after the date of the accident. Failure to do this means that most or all of your benefits will not be payable. If you have suffered a workplace injury, you need to work with the best lawyers in Monroe, NC today. 1Charlotte is here to help with any legal issues that come up from your workplace injury.
We have a professional team of attorneys who have worked on numerous workers’ compensation claims over the years we have been in business. Our job is to make sure that your employers and their insurance company give you the right compensation after you have suffered a workplace injury. With our vast experience and unrivaled expertise, feel free to contact us today and we can offer the best assistance.
Note that you need to notify your employer within 30 days after the accident. That way, you can receive the fair compensation you deserve for proper treatment and care. If you feel that your employer doesn’t respect the regulations of the workers’ compensation coverage, we are here to help. Call our North Carolina workers’ compensation law firm and talk to one of the seasoned Monroe workers’ compensation attorneys.