Steps To Take When Filing a Workers’ Comp Claim in North Carolina

We always advise injured North Carolina workers to work with a Charlotte workers’ comp attorney. The lawyer would ensure that you follow the legal process in applying for your workers’ comp claim and get what’s due to you.

Workers’ comp can be serious business. Workplace accidents are not uncommon across several sectors in North Carolina and the United States in general. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, 5,333 workers died from a work-related injury in 2019. It is a significant 2% increase from 5,250 employees who died in 2018. The non-fatal injury and illnesses stood at 2.8 million in 2019.

When an employee suffers an injury, they are entitled to financial remuneration known as workers’ compensation. The latter is an insurance program in North Carolina that pays benefits to workers who cannot work due to a work-related injury or illness. As easy as it sounds, there are several steps involved in securing workers’ comp benefits. It all starts with filing the workers’ comp claim.

Below, we discuss the steps involved in filing a workers’ compensation claim in NC.

What Qualifies as a Workers’ Compensation Claim?

For an injury to qualify an injured employee for a workers’ comp claim, it must have occurred during the person’s employment. Occupational injuries like repetitive trauma wounds (e.g., carpal tunnel syndrome) also qualify for this work benefit. Also, employees who fall ill or develop a disease due to an adverse work condition can receive compensation.

Nearly all employers in North Carolina are required by law to have workers’ compensation insurance. If the employer “willfully” fails to have the coverage, the state will charge them with a Class H felony. Find out more about this from our workers’ compensation attorneys in Charlotte, NC.

Steps Involved in a North Carolina Workers’ Comp Claim

Below are the steps to take when filing a workers’ compensation claim:

Notify Your Employer of Your Work Injury

Do this either orally or in writing, especially if you did not miss work because of the injury. If you were hospitalized and unable to report your wound yourself, get a family member to do it for you. You can ask a friend or your healthcare provider.

Note that you must make a written report within 30 days from when you suffered the injury. You must do this regardless of whether your employer already knows of your wound. Keep a copy of the letter and hand it over to your North Carolina workers’ compensation lawyer when the need arises.

See a Doctor

You shouldn’t be afraid to go to the doctor because of medical bills as your workers’ comp benefits cover your treatment. If your workplace has an on-site physician, you can see them. At other times, your employer might send you to an outside doctor; ensure you visit the physician.

You can choose to see your doctor, but combine it with the physician provided by your employer. If you travel in a car for 20 miles or more on a roundtrip to see a doctor for a work-related injury, you are entitled to reimbursement. You’ll get 54 cents per travel mile.

Describe How the Injury Occurred to the Physician

Give a detailed description of how you suffered the injury or illness to the physician. It would help them keep a concise medical report. It would be useful to your Charlotte workers’ comp lawyer during the claim process. Also, provide the doctor your employer’s name to enable them to document your treatment as a workers’ comp expense.

Follow the Doctor’s Instructions

You must follow your treatment plan and other instructions from your physician to the letter. Failure to this would allow your employer’s insurance carrier to argue that you aggravated your injuries. Consequently, it would affect your workers’ comp claim.

Complete and Submit All Forms and Make Copies of Everything

In workers’ comp claim cases, you must prove the extent of your injuries, the amount spent, and what is owed to you in lost wages. Thus, you must complete and submit all the forms involved in the claims process. Also, ensure you make copies before submission, as they will serve as evidence. You should turn over the documents to your workers’ comp attorney, Charlotte, NC, once you hire one.

Let Charlotte Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Help You!

In North Carolina, several workers lose their jobs daily due to a work-related injury or illness. Most of them fail to get the compensation they deserve as insurance companies offer them seemingly fair lump sum payments. Don’t let this be your story.

You deserve to get the maximum compensation for your injuries, and our Charlotte workers’ comp attorneys can help you with this. Contact us today for a free case review. We represent workers in all of North Carolina’s.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit